MFY’s 50th Anniversary Alumni Reunion

On September 26, 2013 more than 100 former and current staff members of MFY Legal Services came together for an Alumni Reunion to celebrate MFY’s 50th year of mobilizing for justice.

PHOTOS: To see photos of the event taken by Board Member David Moy, click here.

PANEL PRESENTATION: The reunion featured a panel entitled Reflections on Key Moments in MFY’s History with:

Lynn Kelly, Executive Director, City Bar Justice Center, MFY Executive Director 1998-2007

Hon. Margarita Lopez-Torres, Surrogate, Kings County, MFY Staff Attorney 1981-85; Managing Attorney 1985-87

Normal Siegel, Siegel Teitelbaum & Evans, LLP, MFY Project Director 1978-85

David Udell, Executive Director, National Center for Access to Justice and Visiting Professor from Practice, Cardozo Law School, MFY Staff Attorney 1983-88; SSI Project Director 1988-90

Professor Steven Wizner, William O. Douglas Clinical Professor Emeritus of Law, Supervising Attorney, and Professorial Lecturer in Law, Yale Law School, MFY Staff Attorney 1967, Managing Attorney 1968-70

Click here to listen to the panel presentation and comments.  To listen to a particular speaker, fast forward to the time indicated after their names:
Welcome: Mark Segall (0:00) and Jeanette Zelhof (1:00)
Introduction: David Udell (9:40)
Steven Wizner (11:05)
Normal Siegel (18:04)
Judge Margarita Lopez-Torres (25:40)
Lynn Kelly (31:30)
Open Mic Comments (37:53):
Danny Greenberg (38:20)
Peter Darrow (41:30)
Rosa Maria de la Torre (43:00)
Deborah Rand (46:54)
Deborah Ennix Ross (47:50)
Steven Myers (49:23)
Aaron Frishberg (53:37)
Closing Remarks: David Udell (56:46)

ALUMNI DIRECTORY:  Many alumni responded to our request for up-to-date information and their reflections on their experiences at MFY. If you would like to receive a copy, or if you would like to update your contact information so we can be in touch, please e-mail

OUR THANKS to those who helped plan and organize the event, especially Andrew Goldberg, Daniel Greenberg, Stephen Myers, Rob Schoenbohm, and Una Perkins.

SPECIAL THANKS to those whose contributions made the event possible: Dan Alterman, Anonymous, Nancy Biberman, Edward J. Curtis, Peter H. Darrow, John P. Falk, Marcy S. Friedman, Andrew Goldberg, Robin Goeman, Daniel Greenberg, Hartman, Ule, Rose & Ratner, LLP, Wayne G. Hawley, Deborah Rand, Schulte Roth & Zabel LLP, Denise Tomasini Joshi, Nicole Zeiss